How about tasting?

"The oyster lunch" painted by Jean-François de Troy in 1735.

We are in Versailles, under the reign of Louis XV. All these men, gathered around a table in a sumptuous setting, come back from hunting. They have left their hunting costumes, frock coats, vests and tricorns for their court clothes.

They taste, in large quantities, oysters which were brought from the coast by fast runners. On the table, the crockery is silver. The label wants neither bottle nor glass to touch the table. The glasses are placed upside down in the glass roofs, small refreshing bowls made of Japanese or Chantilly porcelain.

In front of the table stands a small rococo style cabinet, with its ice tray, in order to put cool the bottles. One of the gentlemen has just cut, with his knife, the string holding the cork of a bottle, and head raised, looking amused, looks at the cork which has just popped off.

Another gentleman serves a drink. The bottle that he holds in his hand has a background characteristic of a wine, the object of a real craze since 1735, called the "saute cork", sparkling wine from the land of Champagne.

Finally this oyster lunch could well have been called "the first Champagne" in view of the sparkling joys of this assembly!

Et si on parlait dégustation ?

«Le déjeuner d’huîtres» peint par Jean-François de Troy en 1735.

Nous sommes à Versailles, sous le règne de Louis XV. Tous ces hommes, réunis autour d'une table dans un décor somptueux, reviennent de la chasse. Ils ont quitté leurs costumes de chasseurs, redingotes, gilets et tricornes pour leurs habits de cour.

Ils dégustent, en grande quantité, des huîtres qui ont été apportées de la côte par coureurs rapides. Sur la table, la vaisselle est en argent. L'étiquette veut que ni bouteille, ni verre ne touchent la table. Les verres sont posés à l'envers dans les verrières, petits bols rafraîchisseurs en porcelaine du Japon ou de Chantilly.

Devant la table se tient un petit meuble style rocaille, avec son bac à glace, afin de mettre au frais les bouteilles.Un des gentilshommes vient de couper, avec son couteau, la ficelle retenant le bouchon d'une bouteille, et tête levée, l'air amusé, regarde le bouchon qui vient de sauter.

Un autre gentilhomme sert un verre. La bouteille qu'il tient à la main a un fond caractéristique d'un vin, objet d'un véritable engouement depuis 1735, appelé le "saute bouchon", vin effervescent du pays de Champagne.

Finalement ce déjeuner d’huîtres aurait bien pu s’appeler «le premier Champagne» au regard des joies pétillantes de cette assemblée !

1 de 2