Oysters and Champagne

Oysters and Champagne: the perfect marriage finally explained by science.

Now researchers at the Department of Food Sciences at the University of Copenhagen have discovered flavors in a range of champagnes and a variety of oysters.

For the first time ever, they scientifically explain why these two foods complement each other so well. The answer lies in umami taste, which, along with sweet and salty, is one of the five basic flavors detectable by our taste buds.

A somewhat surprising finding given that umami is usually associated with meat. "Now we have discovered that umami is also found in oysters and champagne," says Professor Ole Mouritsen of the Department of food sciences from UCPH.

“Champagne and oysters create a synergistic effect that improves the taste of champagne,” says lead author of the study, Charlotte Vinther Schmidt, adding that “acidity and bubbles also contribute to the beautiful effect general "

Huîtres et Champagne

Huîtres et Champagne : le mariage parfait enfin expliqué par la science.

Désormais, des chercheurs du Département des sciences alimentaires de l’Université de Copenhague ont découvert des saveurs dans une gamme de champagnes et une variété d’huîtres.

Pour la première fois, ils expliquent scientifiquement pourquoi ces deux aliments se complètent si bien.La réponse se trouve dans le goût umami, qui, avec le sucré et le salé, est l’une des cinq saveurs de base détectables par nos papilles gustatives.

Une découverte quelque peu surprenante étant donné que l’umami est généralement associé à la viande.« Maintenant, nous avons découvert que l’umami se trouve également dans les huîtres et le champagne », déclare le professeur Ole Mouritsen du Département des sciences alimentaires de l'UCPH.

« Le champagne et les huîtres créent un effet de synergie qui améliore le goût du champagne », explique l’auteur principal de l’étude, Charlotte Vinther Schmidt, ajoutant que « l’acidité et les bulles contribuent également au bel effet général »